You are viewing the old Marian University website. Click here to go to the new site!
Marian University Newsroom
Marian University

Media Contact:
Julie Adams
Director of Marketing Communications
O: 317.955.6213

Story Ideas:
Katie Bradley
Project Coordinator for Marketing Communications
O: 317.955.6278

Marian University Newsroom 

View Other News

Marian University 75th Anniversary Gala Raises $8.5 Million for Student Scholarships - 10/26/2012

On Friday, October 19, nearly 2,000 leaders from the civic, health care, religious, and business communities, as well as alumni, faculty, and staff, gathered to celebrate the great history, tremendous present, and exciting future of Marian University.

Lilly Family Receives the Franciscan Values Award from John Lechleiter and President Daniel J. Elsener

“The pride in our institution was palpable as we announced that not only had we raised $153 million in the Make History comprehensive fundraising effort that Marian University began in 2002, but that we had also secured $8.5 million in scholarships in recognition of our anniversary,” Marian University President Daniel J. Elsener said.
The fundraising for the event was led by Fred McClaine, chair of the corporate committee and executive vice president of Brown & Brown of Indiana, Inc. Sixty-two community leaders and organizations invested more than $75,000 each in Marian University at the honorary co-chair level. They include:
Daniel J. and Elizabeth Elsener
John C. and Sarah Lechleiter
Michael and MaryAnn Browning
Eli Lilly and Company Foundation
Herff Jones Company/Joe Slaughter
OneAmerica Financial Partners, Inc.
Monarch Beverage Company, Inc./Phil Terry
Herbert Simon and The Indiana Pacers
The Semler Family
St.Vincent Health
Community Health Network
Michael Evans and Andrea Terrell
Ivrving Materials, Inc./Pete Irving
Marian, Inc.
Alan '62 and Sue Leighton
D. Anthony '69 and Carole Kunkel' 65 Watt
Jack and Jennifer Snyder
The Drew Family
USA Funds (Presenting Sponsor)
Jack and Katie Whelan
Carson Agency, Inc./Philip '81 and Teresa Houser '80 Carson
William '74 and Teresa Eckman
Earl Brinker '74
Charles '68 and Mary Leahy '68 Welch
John '63 and Phyllis Cardis
Orbis Education
Michael Simmons
Stephen and Jacqueline Burns
Margaret Mary Community Hospital
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg, Indiana
Gregg '66 and Pat Dwyer
John '71 and Kathy Bailey '74 Yanney
Mark '80 and Yvonne Stanifer '85 Daniel
Eugene and Helene Herber '53 Henn
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph T. Doyle 
David and Judith Pille '65 Castaldi
Fr. John Luerman
Richard Ruwe
RJE Business Interiors/Denny Sponsel
Mike Weaver
John and Pam Purdie
The Ackerman Foundation/John Ackerman
Citizens Energy Group
Tobias Insurance
Advantage Health Solutions
Raul and Deborah Zavaleta
Fred and Jamie McClaine/Brown and Brown insurance
Mike and Bea Becher
Bob and Joan Smith
Piazza Produce
Christel DeHaan
Steve Hackman and Gina Giacone
SerVaas Family
IPL (Dessert Sponsor)
Fred and Julie Klipsch
Ruth Lilly Philanthropic Foundation
Glick Foundation
Robert and Mary Busemeyer '57 Huntington
The gala was also the occasion of the 20th annual Mary McNulty Young ’47 Opportunities for Excellence Scholarship Dinner. During the celebration, the university honored:
•The Lilly Family, who received the Franciscan Values Award for their magnanimous philanthropic support of many community projects throughout Indianapolis over the last 75 years,
•Archbishop Emeritus Daniel M. Buechlein, who received the John A. Purdie Innovator of the Year Award for his remarkable work with Catholic K-12 schools in central and southern Indiana, and
•The Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg, Indiana, who were recognized for their fateful decision to establish Marian College in Indianapolis in 1937.
President Elsener gave the keynote address, thanking everyone for their prayers, support, and investments in Marian University. He spoke about the importance of education and what a difference it can and does make in people’s lives, and he also outlined Marian University’s commitment to education, health care, and the Church.

Archbishop Tobin accepts the John A. Purdie Innovator of the Year Award on behalf of Archbishop Emeritus Daniel M. Buechlein. Pictured with President Daniel J. Elsener. New Indianapolis Archbishop Joseph William Tobin accepted the John A. Purdie Innovator of the Year Award on behalf of Archbishop Emeritus Daniel M. Buechlein, and announced a $25,000 gift to Marian University from the Archdiocese of Indianapolis.

The evening was an unprecedented success, both in fundraising and in honoring and celebrating the people who have made Marian University the exceptional university that it is today.
“With such an impressive reality before us, I doubt there were any in the room who did not feel inordinately blessed to be part of the Marian University community. It was truly a night to remember,” President Elsener said.