You are viewing the old Marian University website. Click here to go to the new site!
Marian University Newsroom
Marian University

Media Contact:
Julie Adams
Director of Marketing Communications
O: 317.955.6213

Story Ideas:
Katie Bradley
Project Coordinator for Marketing Communications
O: 317.955.6278

Marian University Newsroom 

View Other News

Marian University Gala celebrates 75 years in Indianapolis October 19 - 10/19/2012

Marian University 75th Gala image

In grand style, Marian University will celebrate 75 years in Indianapolis on Friday, October 19, 2012 at the JW Marriott Indianapolis. John and Sarah Lechleiter are the honorary chairs of the 75th Anniversary Gala. John Lechleiter, Ph.D., is the chairman, president, and chief executive officer of Eli Lilly and Company.
That evening, more than 2,000 leaders from the civic, health care, religious, and business communities, as well as alumni, faculty, and staff, will join the Lechleiters and celebrate Marian University’s past and to look to the future.
USA Funds, a nonprofit corporation that works to enhance postsecondary education preparedness, access and success by providing and supporting financial and other valued services, is the presenting sponsor of the event. 
The fundraising for the event has been led by Fred McClaine, chair of the corporate committee. McClaine is the executive vice president of Brown & Brown of Indiana, Inc. As of September 19, with one month to go, 55 community leaders and organizations have invested more than $75,000 each in Marian University at the honorary co-chair level to date. They include:
Daniel and Elizabeth Elsener
John and Sarah Lechleiter
Michael and MaryAnn Browning
Eli Lilly and Company Foundation
Herff Jones Company/ Joe Slaughter
OneAmerica Financial Partners, Inc.
Monarch Beverage Company, Inc./ Phil Terry
Herbert Simon and The Indiana Pacers
The Semler Family
St.Vincent Health
Community Health Network
Michael Evans and Andrea Terrell
Irving Materials, Inc./ Pete Irving
Marian, Inc.
Alan '62 and Sue Leighton
D. Anthony '69 and Carole Kunkel '65 Watt
Jack and Jennifer Snyder
The Drew Family
USA Funds (Presenting Sponsor)
Jack and Katie Whelan
Carson Agency, Inc./ Philip '81 and Teresa Houser '80 Carson
William '74 and Teresa Eckman
Earl Brinker '74
Charles '68 and Mary Leahy '68 Welch
John '63 and Phyllis Cardis
Orbis Education
Michael Simmons 
Stephen and Jacqueline Burns
Margaret Mary Community Hospital
Sisters of St. Francis
Gregg '66 and Pat Dwyer
John '71 and Kathy Bailey '74 Yanney
Mark '80 and Yvonne Stanifer '85 Daniel
Eugene and Helene Herber '53 Henn
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph T. Doyle
David and Judith Pille '65 Castaldi
Fr. John Luerman
Richard Ruwe
RJE Business Interiors/ Denny Sponsel
Mike Weaver
John and Pam Purdie
The Ackerman Foundation/ John Ackerman
Citizens Energy Group
Tobias Insurance
Advantage Health Solutions
Raul and Deborah Zavaleta
Fred and Jamie McClaine/ Brown and Brown Insurance
Mike and Bea Becher
Bob and Joan Smith
Piazza Produce
Christel DeHaan
Steve Hackman and Gina Giacone
During the evening, the total amount of money raised for Make History, the comprehensive fundraising effort for the university that was publicly launched in 2007, will be announced by John '63 and Phyllis Cardis, co-chairs of the campaign. At the beginning of the effort, the university had set a goal of $68.2 million dollars. Thus far, Make History has raised nearly $150 million.
Marian University President Daniel J. Elsener will be the keynote speaker for the event, and during his remarks he will outline a vision for the future that will allow Marian University to build on its achievements of the past 75 years. A great Catholic university in a great American city will be the theme of his remarks. The university is committed to being a Catholic institution of higher education in the Franciscan tradition, providing a strong liberal arts foundation to all of its undergraduate students, and serving the community by:
  • Improving health care by educating doctors and nurses who are leaders in the medical profession.
  • Improving K-12 education by forming school leaders who can transform broken, under-performing schools into dynamic centers of teaching and learning.
  • Building community partnerships that can revitalize neighborhoods and provide dedicated, faith-filled leaders for our community and our Church.
The 75th Anniversary Gala also is the occasion of the 20th annual Mary McNulty Young ’47 Opportunities for Excellence Scholarship Dinner. During the evening, the university will honor:
  • The Lilly Family, who will receive the Franciscan Values Award for their magnanimous philanthropic support of many community projects throughout Indianapolis over the last 75 years,
  • Archbishop Emeritus Daniel M. Buechlein, who will receive the John A. Purdie Innovator of the Year Award for his remarkable work with Catholic K-12 schools in central and southern Indiana, and
  • The Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg, Indiana, who will be recognized for their fateful decision to establish Marian College in Indianapolis in 1937.
The evening is being planned by Maribeth Smith & Associates, Inc. The reception for the event is at 6:30 p.m. Dinner is at 7:30 p.m. For more information about the gala visit, contact Dana Rizzi at 317.955.6207 or