You are viewing the old Marian University website. Click here to go to the new site!
Marian University Newsroom
Marian University

Media Contact:
Julie Adams
Director of Marketing Communications
O: 317.955.6213

Story Ideas:
Katie Bradley
Project Coordinator for Marketing Communications
O: 317.955.6278

Marian University Newsroom 

View Other News

Marian University to Host Collegiate Track National Championships - 9/9/2011

Title Sponsor

St.Vincent SportsPerformance


Marian University Indianapolis


Central Indiana Bicycling Association Foundation


zipp speed weaponry

TruTrainer - Premium Bicycle Rollers

Matthews Bicycles
SRAM logo



For the second consecutive year, 130-140 cyclists representing as many as 30 colleges and universities will compete in Indianapolis, Indiana at the Major Taylor Velodrome. Cyclists from Appalachian State University, Fort Lewis College, Mars Hill College, University of California – San Diego, University of Northern Colorado, University of Pennsylvania, US Military Academy and other colleges will compete against as collegiate cycling dynasty Marian University, which is hosting the USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships. The three-day event is September 15-17, 2011 and sponsored by St.Vincent Sports Performance.

Teams are allowed up to eight men and eight women cyclists for collegiate sports’ only true co-ed sport. Over the course of three days cyclists will compete in the more than 30 individual and team events.

Competition begins at 9 a.m. on Thursday, September 15, 2011 with the women’s 3,000-meter time trial and is followed by the men’s 4,000-meter trials. The afternoon session will begin at 5 p.m. with the kilometer time trial, followed by the women’s 500-meter time trial, and award ceremonies.

Day two of competition commences again at 9:30 a.m. on Friday and gets underway with the men’s 200-meter time trial. Immediately following, the collegiate team sprint qualifications begin, followed by the first round of the men’s sprints, the women’s team pursuit final, and the second round of men’s sprints. Friday’s late session begins again at 5 p.m. and gets going in style with the collegiate team sprint final. The rest of the evening is filled with the men’s sprint quarterfinals, men’s sprint semi-finals, women’s points race final, and men’s sprints final. Awards will once again conclude the evening’s activities.

Pending good weather throughout the weekend, Saturday will conclude events of the 2011 USA Cycling Collegiate National Track Championships starting with the women’s 200-meter time trial at 9:30 a.m. The remainder of the morning will consist of the men’s team pursuit, women’s opening round and quarterfinal sprints, and the men’s point race heats. The final afternoon of competition will feature the women’s sprint semi-finals and finals, and the men’s 30-kilometer points race.

The last awards ceremony will crown the 2011 individual and team omnium champions that evening as well. If necessary, the rain date is Sunday, September 18, 2011.

For a complete USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships schedule, visit:

Registered Teams:

  • Appalachian State University
  • Colorado State University
  • Cumberland University
  • DePauw University
  • Emory University
  • Florida International University
  • Fort Lewis College
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Georgia State University
  • Harvard University
  • Indiana University-Bloomington
  • Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
  • Lees-McRae College
  • Lindenwood University
  • Lindsey Wilson College
  • Marian University
  • Mars Hill College
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Michigan State University
  • Midwestern State University
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Portland State University
  • Purdue University
  • Texas A & M University
  • University of California-San Diego
  • University of Colorado-Boulder
  • University of Florida
  • University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
  • University of Northern Colorado
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Vermont
  • University of Washington-Seattle
  • US Military Academy
  • Wayne State University

About USA Cycling
Recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States, including road, track, mountain bike, BMX, and cyclo-cross. USA Cycling’s mission is to achieve sustained success in international cycling competition and to grow competitive cycling in America.

About the Major Taylor Velodrome
Built in 1982 and host site of the 1987 Pan American Games, the Major Taylor Velodrome is a 333 1/3 meter (three laps equal one kilometer), concrete, open-air bicycle track featuring 28-degree banking in the turns and nine-degree banking on the straight-aways. Located immediately northeast of the Marian University campus, the Velodrome is named for the world champion and record-setting African-American cyclists, Marshall Walter “Major” Taylor. In 2011, Marian University was awarded the management contract for Lake Sullivan Sports Complex, including the velodrome.

About Marian University Cycling
2010 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships Founded in 1992, the Marian University Knights cycling team has captured an impressive 15 collegiate national championships: 13 track championships (including each of the last five years) and two road championships. The team won both the USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships and the Road National Championships in 2009 and 2010. In the last 23 years, Marian University is one of only two institutions to win the road nationals that is not based in California or Colorado. The Knights are certainly the team to beat as they host this year’s track championships, defending last year’s title and aiming for their sixth consecutive track cycling championship.

About Marian University
Marian University ( is the only Catholic liberal arts university in central Indiana. It is a private, co-educational school offering classes to both traditional and non-traditional students. Located two miles northwest of downtown Indianapolis, Marian University is a Catholic university dedicated to excellent teaching and learning in the Franciscan and liberal arts traditions. It is one of Indiana’s 31 independent colleges, and one of 244 Catholic colleges and universities in the United States. On July 1, 2009, Marian College became Marian University. On January 15, 2010, Marian University announced it would develop the first college of osteopathic medicine in the state of Indiana.