You are viewing the old Marian University website. Click here to go to the new site!
Marian University Newsroom
Marian University

Media Contact:
Julie Adams
Director of Marketing Communications
O: 317.955.6213

Story Ideas:
Katie Bradley
Project Coordinator for Marketing Communications
O: 317.955.6278

Marian University Newsroom 

View Other News

Dr. Raymond Haberski Receives Fulbright Award - 7/7/2008

Dr. Raymond J. Haberski Jr., associate professor of history and director of the Honors Program at Marian College, has been named the Danish Distinguished Chair in American Studies through the Fulbright Scholar Program. During the 2008-09 academic year, he will teach courses at the Center for the Study of the Americas at Copenhagen Business School and further his research on U.S. intellectual and cultural history.

Haberski is the first Marian College faculty member to be awarded a Fulbright Distinguished Chair; the college has a long history with the Fulbright program, and he joins a list of other award recipients. Lora Vann ’58 received a Fulbright scholarship to teach overseas after graduation and Jodi Bentz ’68 also received a Fulbright. Other Marian College professors who received Fulbright-funded travel-study grants included Sr. Vivian Rose Morshauser (India), Sr. Mary Gloria Gallagher (India), and Sr. Therese Wente (Egypt). View the list of current U.S. scholars.

During the fall semester, Haberski will teach a course on popular culture, a graduate course on movies and the law, and contribute a theme on American myths to a team-taught seminar. He will also research and write a book to be published in the series Ideas in Action by Rutgers University Press tentatively entitled The God That Never Failed: Civil Religion and Postwar America. He will look at America’s continued investment in a special global mission even though that mission has resulted in numerous wars and soul-searching crises.

Haberski has taught at Marian College since 2000 and written three books that use American movie culture to explore how mass culture has changed assumptions about what constitutes art (It’s Only a Movie, 2001), how culture becomes controversial (Freedom to Offend, 2007), and why free speech protection for movies is significant (The Miracle Case, 2008). He is one of approximately 800 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright Scholar Program

About the Fulbright Scholar Program:
The Fulbright Scholar Program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries. The program is sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Since its inception, 102,900 Americans have studied, taught or researched abroad as part of the program.